On the Heels of a Hurricane Ephesians 4:29

On the Heels of a Hurricane

On the Heels of a Hurricane

Okay peoples, here’s a different take on Ephesians 4:29.  It’s about timing and being seasonable.  Have you ever said some truth without timing?  Candor without cause? Honesty without aim?  Well, join the club.  I’ve pulled some real doozies out and hurt people pretty badly.  With ill intent?  No. Without forethought and balancing against the totality of circumstances? Yes. Perhaps my morbid thinking started when I got all screwed up with a volcano for my birthday (more on that later).

I’m the dummy that will talk about Noah’s Ark when you send me to help hurricane victims. Maybe that’s why my church doesn’t send me on field trips, huh? I’m beginning to understand as I age how damaging bad timing can be. Probably not nice to show up anywhere in  the Northwest with a water bucket and pamphlets about Sodom and Gomorrah in late July. Could get you exiled from Idaho eternally. “So what does this have to do with Ephesians 4:29?” one might ask.

Although I spent years and decades thinking Philippians was written just for the Ahlstroms (my dad’s name was Phillip…uh, more on that later), Ephesians may very well be my favorite Epistle.  I believe in what I like to call 20/20 vision, where you go back 20 verses and forward 20 verses around a quoted verse to get some context. That being said, for the sake of brevity, it’s 4:29 for now:

29 Let no corrupt speech proceed out of your mouth, but such as is good for edifying as the need may be, that it may give grace to them that hear. ESV Ephesians 4:29

and my favorite……..

Ephesians 4:29Amplified Bible (AMP)

29 Let no foul or polluting language, nor evil word nor unwholesome or worthless talk [ever] come out of your mouth, but only such [speech] as is good and beneficial to the spiritual progress of others, as is fitting to the need and the occasion, that it may be a blessing and give grace (God’s favor) to those who hear it.

This verse can be used to shut you up or shut you down if you’re talking corrupt or being corrosive.  That’s as it should be. My focus here is the bit about AS IS FITTING TO THE NEED OR THE OCCASION.

Not a good news story in late July following coverage of a forest fire

Not a good news story in late July following coverage of a forest fire

To all of those I’ve hurt with bad timing, cause or aim, I hereby apologize. I have speculated aloud about cause of death before a coroners report, given dastardly diagnosis before lab work came back, definitely tossed out some volcanic verisimilitudes (more later), and even had some sayings about Tsunamis that I’d be ashamed to say directly to the victims. I mean it! I’m sorry and I hope to continue this writing endeavor with honesty, candor and truth. My pledge is to listen for God’s timing, have the Holy Spirit confirm the cause, and for Jesus to take aim at just ONE reader (I know, not exactly a dangerous digit in the war against the devil, but one has to build readership).

Till next time!

This entry was posted in Religion, Writing and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

